Skip to main content

Resources for:
Home > Local CareerCenters

CareerCenter Regions Region 1 Region 2 Region 3 Region 4Local CareerCenters

The Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (WIA) reformed federal employment, training, adult education, and vocational rehabilitation programs by creating an integrated "one-stop" system of workforce investment and education services for adults, dislocated workers, and youth.

The Maine workforce system comprises 4 regions or Local Workforce Investment Boards. These regions utilize a network of 12 full-service CareerCenters with additional service points and partner providers located throughout the state that provide services to employers and job seekers.

  • Region 1
    Serving Aroostook & Washington Counties
  • Region 2
    Serving Piscataquis, Penobscot, & Hancock Counties
  • Region 3
    Serving Androscoggin, Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford, & Somerset Counties
  • Region 4
    Serving Waldo, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Cumberland, & York Counties